The digital transition of a building for renovation

10 August 2018 by Snapkin

 

The digital revolution has radically changed society as well as industry. If banks, transportation, research and even healthcare adopt innovative strategies to gain performance, the building sector also has an opportunity to succeed in this new paradigm. To support this transition, in 2015 the French government launched the Digital Transition Building Plan (Plan Transition Numérique Bâtiment, or PTNB), and more recently last April, the executive office presented its plan for the energy renovation of buildings. With the hope of renovating 500,000 buildings per year, the government has clearly made it a national priority. A solution stands out for addressing these issues which relates to the current predicament of our century as well as to digital: BIM (Building Information Modeling).

 

Why renovate using BIM?

BIM consists of creating a building’s digital twin that is accessible and can be updated throughout its life by all stakeholders working around the infrastructure. In addition to containing the structural elements of a building, the BIM model contains other information, such as the various materials used to construct a wall, the measurements of each window and even equipment maintenance data. Regarding an existing property, capturing reality before modeling it is necessary. Referred to as a Scan to BIM, the most reliable method today is first to digitize the building using a laser scanner, and then to create a digital model from the scan, called a point cloud. It is thus easy to take exact measurements, establish various scenarios or even better anticipate risks and renovation costs. BIM is basically a collaborative method for better anticipating events that can happen during a building’s lifecycle.

 

BIM during renovation opens new perspectives

Energy renovation

The BIM model is updated throughout the life of the infrastructure, and can serve as support for potential simulations. As part of energy renovation, the digital model is used by design offices for evaluating the existing structure: which insulation materials have been used, what type of shade the building has, what types of windows were used, etc. Coupled with dedicated tools, such as those from the startup company, Kocliko, it will be easier and quicker to carry out renovation work simulations and to evaluate the impact of energy efficiency.

Retrofitting

Like energy renovation, any rehabilitation project requires the creation of scenarios to best predict costs and potential risks associated with the work. In this context, the model is used by architects and designers to test hypotheses and to define the best way to maximize the project’s success.

Demolition

Even if a building is destined for demolition, it’s more and more common to create a digital avatar of it. In fact, the digital model supplies an accurate inventory of equipment and materials and best meets the challenges of end-of-life issues, recycling and reuse of materials. Here too, deconstruction simulations can be easily carried out. If use of this method is relatively unknown in France, it has already been successfully used elsewhere, especially in Great Britain with the emerging notion of DRIM, “Deconstruction & Recovery Information Modeling”.

La transition numérique du bâtiment au service de la rénovation

10 août 2018 par Snapkin

 

La révolution numérique bouleverse notre société ainsi que tous les secteurs d’activité. Si les banques, les transports, la recherche ou encore la santé adoptent des stratégies innovantes pour gagner en performance, le secteur du bâtiment a toutes ses chances pour réussir dans ce nouveau paradigme.
Pour soutenir cette transition, le gouvernement français lançait en 2015 le Plan Transition Numérique Bâtiment (PTNB) et plus récemment, en avril dernier, l’exécutif présentait son plan pour la rénovation énergétique des bâtiments. Avec une volonté de rénover 500 000 logements par an, le gouvernement en fait clairement une priorité nationale.
Une solution se démarque pour relever ces enjeux, à la fois liés à la conjoncture de notre siècle et au numérique, le BIM (Building Information Modeling).

 

Pourquoi rénover en BIM ?

Le BIM consiste à créer un jumeau numérique d’un bâtiment, consultable et pouvant être alimenté tout au long de sa vie par tous les acteurs travaillant autour de l’infrastructure. En plus de contenir les éléments structurels d’une construction, la maquette BIM contient des informations, telles que les différents matériaux composant un mur, les dimensions de chaque fenêtre, ou encore des données relatives à l’entretien d’équipements. Concernant le patrimoine existant, une capture de la réalité en amont de la modélisation est nécessaire. Appelée Scan to BIM, la méthode la plus fiable aujourd’hui est tout d’abord de numériser le bâtiment à l’aide d’un scanner laser et de réaliser une maquette numérique à partir du relevé, appelé nuage de points. Il sera alors facilement possible de prendre des mesures précises, d’établir différents scénarios ou encore de mieux anticiper les risques et les coûts des travaux de rénovation. Le BIM est donc une méthode collaborative pour anticiper au mieux les événements pouvant se produire lors du cycle de vie du bâtiment.

Le BIM dans la rénovation ouvre de nouvelles perspectives  

 

Rénovation énergétique

La maquette BIM est donc mise à jour tout au long de la vie de l’infrastructure et peut servir de support pour de potentielles simulations. Dans le cadre de rénovation énergétique, le modèle numérique est utilisé par les bureaux d’études pour, d’une part évaluer l’existant : quels sont les matériaux d’isolation utilisés, quel est le degré d’ombrage du bâti, quels types de fenêtre ont été utilisées, etc. Couplé avec des outils dédiés, tels que les technologies de la startup Kocliko, il sera alors plus simple et plus dynamique d’effectuer des simulations de travaux de rénovation et d’évaluer les retombées sur l’efficacité énergétique.

Réhabilitation

A l’instar de la rénovation énergétique, tout projet de réhabilitation nécessite la réalisation de scénarios afin de prévoir au mieux les coûts et les potentiels risques liés aux travaux. Dans ce cadre là, la maquette est utilisée par les architectes et dessinateurs pour tester des hypothèses et définir laquelle est la meilleure candidate pour maximiser la réussite du projet.

Démolition

Même si un bâtiment est destiné à être détruit, il est de plus en plus commun de créer un avatar numérique de celui-ci. En effet, la maquette numérique apporte un inventaire précis des équipements et matériaux et répond au mieux aux enjeux liés aux questions de fin de  vie, de recyclage et de réemploi des matériaux. Là aussi, des simulations de déconstruction seront facilement réalisables. Si l’utilisation de cette méthode est encore confidentielle en France, celle-ci a déjà fait ses preuves à l’étranger et notamment en Grande Bretagne avec la notion émergente de DRIM, « Deconstruction & Recovery Information Modeling ».

Related posts

18 mars 2016 par Snapkin