Why are BIM & the cloud perfect match

13 August 2018 by Snapkin

 

One of the key advantages BIM offers is its intrinsic collaborative aspect. The aim of BIM is basically to facilitate and foster coordination between the various different parties working together on complex projects. It is estimated that between 30 and 40 percent of financial loss in construction projects is linked to bad coordination. Because they are real-time based, therefore, BIM solutions available via cloud-based platforms are an effective answer to the challenge of enabling all the various parties involved to collaborate dynamically.

With the huge expansion in the use of mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets and even smart glasses on building sites, there is no longer any room for doubt that the construction professions are undergoing a process of digitalization. Cloud-based BIM apps enable members of the same team working together on a project to have real-time access to information about the building and to any updates/changes. In the context of the maintenance, this could translate to data relating to equipment maintenance, the history of the work and tasks carried out, or the ability to report an incident. Having a unique database of this kind available therefore eliminates the need to waste time searching for information and, as a consequence, enables potential gains in productivity. In fact, collaborative digital models enable savings to the tune of 12 days per year, per worker/staff member, which translates to significant savings for companies managing large numbers of properties.

And the cloud also provides a solution to the problem of the limited power of individual PCs/laptops. Architects and consulting engineers, for example, require considerable mathematical processing power in order to work with CAD software such as Revit® or with the point clouds produced by 3D laser scanners. The ability to transfer this processing to remote servers eliminates the need for additional investment in IT equipment. This is the case, for example, with Snapkin’s point-cloud processing technology. The algorithmic work is carried out in the cloud, thus freeing up businesses’ own resources and enabling them to benefit from improvements in the technology in real time, without any need for updates.

The cloud would therefore seem to be the ally of choice when it comes to efficiently undertaking projects using BIM and involving a multitude of stakeholders, and without geographic location acting as a hindrance to the work being completed to a high standard.

Pourquoi le BIM et le cloud font-ils si bon ménage ?

13 août 2018 par Snapkin

 

L’un des avantages clés du BIM est son aspect collaboratif intrinsèque. Le BIM a en effet pour ambition de faciliter et favoriser la coordination entre les diverses parties prenantes travaillant ensemble sur des projets complexes. On estime entre 30 et 40% de pertes économiques liées à une mauvaise coordination dans les projets immobiliers. Avec la notion de temps réel, les solutions BIM offertes via un support dans le cloud apportent donc une réponse efficace à une collaboration dynamique entre tous les acteurs.

Avec le développement massif de l’utilisation d’appareils mobiles sur les chantiers comme les smartphones, tablettes et même lunettes connectées, il n’y a plus de doute quant à la digitalisation des métiers de la construction et du bâtiment. Les applications BIM dans le cloud permettent aux membres d’une même équipe travaillant ensemble sur un projet d’avoir accès en temps réel aux informations du bâtiment et mises à jour. Dans le cadre de la maintenance/exploitation d’une infrastructure cela peut se traduire par des données relatives à l’entretien des équipements, l’historique des interventions ou encore la possibilité de déclarer un incident. Cette base de données unique évite donc de perdre du temps à chercher l’information et favorise par conséquent un gain de productivité. En effet, la maquette numérique collaborative permettrait de gagner 12 jours par an et par collaborateur, de quoi représenter une économie conséquente pour les entreprises gérant un large parc immobilier.

Mais le cloud répond aussi à la problématique de la puissance des ordinateurs. Les architectes et ingénieurs de bureaux d’études ont par exemple de gros besoins en puissance de calcul : travailler sur des logiciels CAO comme Revit® ou à partir de nuages de points issus de laser scanner 3D. Le fait de déporter les traitements sur des serveurs distants évite des investissements supplémentaires en matériel informatique. C’est par exemple le cas de la technologie Snapkin de traitement automatique de nuages de points. Le travail des algorithmes s’effectue sur le cloud libérant ainsi les ressources des entreprises et permettant de bénéficier des améliorations de la technologie en temps réel, sans aucune mise à jour.

Le cloud semble donc être l’allié de choix pour mener efficacement des projets en BIM avec une multitude d’acteurs, sans que la localisation géographique soit un frein à la bonne réalisation des travaux.

Related posts

19 mars 2018 par Snapkin
25 mai 2014 par Snapkin